Request for Research Sources-Liturgical Tastes of Young Adult Catholics
  • Greetings all,

I’m a graduate student at Saint John’s University in Collegeville, MN, where I’m pursuing an M.A. in Liturgical Music. This semester, I’m taking a course entitled "Modern Liturgical Movements" with Fr. Anthony Ruff, OSB. For our final paper, we’ve been asked to choose a topic to research on liturgy and the liturgical movement.

My personal conversion back to my faith came about through the young adult Catholic movement, especially in its more traditional ecclesiological, liturgical, and musical expressions. I am gathering sources to make the liturgical tastes of young adult/millenial Catholics into my research topic. So far I've found blog posts on the topic, but I would like to find more articles and books to make my research more comprehensive.

If anyone is aware of resources they would like to share, please do!

I think this is a great topic for to explore. Because Saint John’s has been a significant player in the U.S. liturgical movement and progressive liturgy, I think it would be valuable to study newer liturgical movements among young adult Catholics, especially more traditional expressions, and the "reform of the reform," which are of great interest to me.

Many thanks,

Joel S. Kumro

• MatthewRoth
    Define young adult and millenial... Most of us who fit those definitions are not publishing books yet. But for something in-between good blogs and scholarly I would recommend Resurgent in the Midst of Crisis and The Reform of the Reform? by Dr. Peter Kwasniewski and Fr. Thomas Kocik, respectively. Dom Alcuin Reid and Fr. Uwe Michael Lang both have multiple books published. Even though some authors might be over 50 in my list, they were formed by the traditional praxis and rites when they were closer to my age (I am 20). So, anywhere from when they were my age to their mid-30s.