Font Facts
  • Ralph BednarzRalph Bednarz
    great thread.
    Thanked by 1canadash
  • Adam WoodAdam Wood
    Um, how do you like the 'g'?

The g and G in High Tower are both very nice.

It seems to me that upper case R's are amongst the most difficult and least succesful letters of most any font, even of those fonts one really likes.

YES.

[Ben Whitworth's sample]

Very nice. Thanks.

(I know, I know, I am convinced by all the arguments for the superiority of Gregorio, but I am a humanities graduate and LaTeX makes my brain hurt).

My degrees are in music and theatre.

SUCK IT UP WHITWORTH!

No but seriously, do I need to make a video or something?

Thanked by 1Ben_Whitworth
  • No but seriously, do I need to make a video or something?

If you do, I promise I will give it a go.
    Thanked by 1Adam Wood
  • Adam WoodAdam Wood
    I'm sure it's common knowledge, but what does Solesmes use?

Does anyone know?

I've looked at it and they seem to use several different fonts for different things. I've tried analyzing it with What the Font, but I never get a good result.

If anyone knows what they use for chant lyrics, I'd be very curious.
  • '... but what does Solesmes use?'

'Does anyone know?'

Well, whatever Solesmes uses, it isn't the 'Solesmes Method'!

(And, more precisely font-wise: I seem to remember that Mme. Bergeron (Decadent Enchantments) discusses the special fonts that were developed for Solesmes chant books. There were actually, if I remember correctly, font wars by the various entities involved in gaining primacy for their chant editions.)

Thanked by 1CHGiffen
  • bonniebede
    I like the letter R. There it sits, week after week, valiantly trying to encourage active participation, yet ignored by so many. A real little tryer that R.
  • smvanroodesmvanroode
    But what does Solesmes use?

I believe that the font used in the Solesmes editions from the 1980's onwards is of their own design.
  • Tournemire