Recessional hymns
  • Dave
    I realize that this topic has come up often in Catholic music circles. I'm not seeking to spark a debate about the pros and cons thereof. True, there is no "need" for a hymn at the end of Mass. However, my church is one of many with the four-hymn sandwich and I'm not in a position to up-end that tradition at this time. I wish we could use propers and reduce the use of hymns. However, I would politely request that this thread not be turned into a discussion of "for or against."

My concern is principally with the applause that a number of congregants are breaking into, in increasing numbers, at the end of the recessional hymn. This has been happening more frequently over the past few months. I do not know what has caused this. The same cantor and I have been working together for several years and only relatively recently has this become a problem. I understand and am flattered that people want to express their appreciation for the music, but I also don't want them to think of the recessional hymn as a performance for their entertainment, or a piece of music that requires their obvious show of gratitude every week. Loud clapping takes away from the atmosphere of prayer that I'm trying to maintain after Mass.

Do you have suggestions of ways I can express, charitably, to the community that this behavior is not exactly appropriate for the liturgy? Thank you.
  • Kathy
    I'd suggest a musical solution. Would it be possible to avoid bringing the recessional to a full stop? Instead, at the end of the hymn, mellowly modulate into a fairly quiet improvisation/ postlude.

Take away that silent moment that usually follows the hymn.
  • Dave
    Hi Kathy, Thanks. I understand where you're coming from and appreciate the suggestion, but I'm not sure how I feel about needing to do that from week to week. Based on what I've seen at this church, I have a feeling that they're the type to steamroll over any modulation with applause.
  • Liam