• dvalerio
    The Vespers of the Little Office of the Blessed Virgin Mary for the Extraordinary From (outside Advent and Easter Season) are found in pages [89] and ff. of the 1912 Antiphonale. (See pp. [94] and ff. for Advent, and p. [98] for Easter Season.)
  • miacoyne
    Thank you so much for all the info and suggestions. I'm still learning. It will take time and discipline for me to put it together, but I will post oneday," We did Vespers today and it was beautiful."
  • noel jones, aagonoel jones, aago
    Cursing...

Ralph, I DO want to know...

Do you know the three psalms that are never used because the contain too much cursing?
    Having read and re-read...HELP!

We are having Evening Prayer every Wednesday, starting two weeks ago. At this point we are singing an Evening Hymn and then singing the Magnificat in English to a Single Anglican Chant Tune.

The deacon has downloaded each week's servive from eBreviary.com

So I know that it is a 4 week cycle. BUT does that cycle vary with seasons?

Where, o where...is someplace on the Internet where one might go and find a clear chart with links to everything needed to sing Evening Prayer in the OF?
  • TBL
    The three psalms not said in the current LOTH are (using the Hebrew numbering) 58, 83, and 109.

The 4 week psalter doesn't really vary with the seasons (besides resetting to Week I at the beginning of each season); sometimes the antiphons are proper. The rest of the office of Vespers does typically vary. And some parts, at least the Magnificat antiphon and the concluding prayer, are specific to each day.
  • dvalerio
    > The 4 week psalter doesn't really vary with the seasons

Not in Vespers, though in the Office of Readings there are changes with the season: «Three psalms (78, 105, and 106) are reserved for the seasons of Advent, Christmas, Lent, and Easter, because they throw a special light on the Old Testament history of salvation as the forerunner of its fulfillment in the New.» (GILH §30)