How to Start a Chant-Based Sacred Music Program in 8 Not Easy and Time-Consuming Steps
  • WJA
    A former parishioner contacted me for information about building a chant-based sacred music program at his new parish that, like mine, has both OF and EF Masses. This prompted me to reflect upon what we've done at my parish the past five years and write it down as a step-by-step process. My correspondent found it useful and I thought others, especially newcomers to the forum, might as well.

So I offer it here with what should be the obvious caveat: this has worked so far worked at my parish with my pastor and my singers. Any warranty express or implied, including the warranty of merchantability and fitness for a particular purpose, is hereby expressly disclaimed.

I can speak only to chant resources; I have no expertise or knowledge regarding polyphony.

Everything you need for an excellent Latin and English plainchant, OF and EF, music program can be found at these two web sites:

http://musicasacra.com/

http://www.ccwatershed.org/liturgy/

Which musical resources you use mainly depends on (a) the skill of the choir and (b) the judgment of the celebrant regarding the needs of the congregation.

Here is the plan we more or less followed for the EF Mass for 5 years:

Step 1. Learn an easy chant ordinary and an easy Credo (Mass VIII and Credo III are the usual choices) and sing the propers from a psalm-tone collection (you can download the Rossini psalm-tone propers on Musicasacra, or Corpus Christi Watershed as another set). Learn the easy Latin hymns (e.g., the four Marian antiphons in simple tone [Alma redemptoris mater, Ave regina Caelorum, Regina caeli, Salve regina], Ave Verum Corpus, Adoro te devote, Pange lingua, O Salutaris)

Step 2. Start singing the proper communion from the Liber (these are the easiest Gregorian propers). Learn a couple of slightly more difficult Latin hymns (Ecce Panis, Panis angelicus)