Spanish Hymnal(s)
  • I've been doing research for several months, looking for a Spanish hymnal with more traditional hymns and chants. The best one I have found is "Cancionero Liturgico Nacional". However, I don't know where I can buy sets for it. Where can I get the organ music? the Choir's music? Piano? I can only find one kind of hymnal and I think it's the text for the congregation. I would appreciate the help.

Also, if anyone has any suggestions for other Spanish hymnals, please let me know, it would be very helpful. Please do not recommend "Flor y Canto"
  • I meant "Cantoral Liturgico Nacional" not "cancionero".
  • Have you found these sites? I haven't yet looked at them carefully.
    http://www.enciclopediacecilia.org/wiki/M%C3%BAsica_Lit%C3%BArgica.com
    http://www.musicaliturgica.com/

I will indeed recommend Flor y Canto--for composting.
  • Amen to that one, Daniel. This evening, during the offertory, I leafed through the new edition of Flor y Canto. Most of what I found was suspect and questionable, not at all impressive. What is troubling is the service music section. As I've alluded to in a previous post, OCP seems to take excessive liberties with the parts of the Mass in Spanish (and some English compositions). The Gloria is chopped up beyond recognition and it omits references to God the Father and the Holy Name of Jesus Christ. Bob Hurd's Agnus Dei is suspect and questionable (Misa del Pueblo Imigrante) because it strings everything together. I refuse to sing it during Mass and will quietly recite the Agnus Dei in Latin.

There are also other songs, especially Bob Hurd's, that focus more on the community and less on the triune God. They focus on building up the community and downplay the Eucharist (O Amor de Dios and Ven al Banquete).

It is hard to find anything decent in Spanish (although I did get a great link to some Mass parts from one of my fellow posters). Unfortunately, OCP has a monopoly on stuff in Spanish here in the United States.