Children's choir in Latin America
  • Hello and greetings from Down Here to all of you Up There. I am an absolute newbie, so I hope that I shall be forgiven if I have chosen the wrong category for this discussion.

I'm a Catholic priest who works with children from marginal barrios in a big city in Latin-America. I set up a small charity which is currently helping several hundred of the city's poorest and most vulnerable children through it various programmes.

Some years ago, I started a children's choir. Originally, I intended it to be mixed; but that hasn't really worked. Singing doesn't tend to be viewed as a very macho activity down here, and although there are a number of choirs for girls in the city, there don't seem to be any for boys; and the number of boys willing to join a mixed choir is limited. I therefore decided that when the older girls moved on, they would not be replaced. In 2013 the mix will be 2 girls to about 30 boys. The voices of most of the boys have not broken, but some of those whose have stay on in order to allow us to have a more extensive repertoire, so the age range is from 7 to 17.

The selection process is quite rigorous, and a considerable level of commitment is required. Each child attends 3 or 4 times a week and receives classes in musical theory and sight-reading as well as in singing. The choir's repertoire includes a little plainsong, the usual short classical lollipops, and a few songs from films as well as Latin-American hymns, carols and folk-music. They therefore sing in Latin and English in addition to Spanish. In short, we are gradually moving towards the establishment of a semi-residential choir school, loosely based on the classical European model.

We hope, eventually, to produce a first-class choir. The objectives of of this are multiple and include:
    promoting the glory of God and the salvation of souls through song;