¿Latin translations of English hymns?
  • Leland
    Greetings. I am a Baptist layman with a strong interest in hymnody of many kinds. In connection with the compilation of a hymn collection for my denominational regional organization (the Evergreen Baptist Association of American Baptist Churches USA) as well as just out of a general love of polyglottal polyphony, I am interested in finding good Latin singing translations (or chanting translations) of hymns originally written in English. Although I am at least potentially interested in almost any such texts, I am particularly interested in finding Latin versions for some of the 69 text-tune pairings that are common to eight hymnals currently in use in our churches, a list of which may be found on my blog. (Of course the tunes are not really important in this connection; a translation of "Love Divine, All Loves Excelling" written with Hyfrydol or Blaenwern rather than Beecher in mind would probably sing just as well to Beecher, for example. And I'd be interested in chant settings for some of them, too.) I'm not sure if the original language of Francis of Assisi's Canticle of the Sun (or of the Creatures, or whatever it's really called) is really Latin enough to call it Latin; it looks more Old Italian to my rusty Ciceronian eye. And of course Surrexit Christus hodie can be appropriated to pretend to be a translation of "Christ the Lord Is Risen Today"... But I'd love to see a really good Latin version of "Were You There" or "I Am Thine, O Lord" just as much as one of a high-church hymn like "The Church's One Foundation". For those of you with a command of Latin and an eclectic hymnodic bent, I invite your contributions to this effort.

Leland Bryant Ross

Fremont Baptist Church, Seattle