Advent tunes for children
  • ryandryand
    I need a couple of simple tunes for kids to sing that are "Adventy" (direct quote).

This is just for a morning workshop on a weekend. Doesn't need to be "appropriate for mass" or anything, just something that little kids could pick up and sing together in a few minutes. They'd like one appropriate for pre-k through 3rd grade, and another for 4th through 8th.

Thought I'd ask around here since I've got little experience with this sort of thing. I've done K-8 music before, but that was at a parish where the pastor printed the SEP antiphons in the bulletin. Now I'm working where OCP has been the norm for decades. Quite different!

If you've got any suggestions, please chime in. Much appreciated.
  • BenBen
    Creator alme siderum? You could use it in english or latin.
  • rogue63
    The Story of Redemption for Children, with texts by Fr. Joseph Abair, is available as a download on this website. It uses Creator Alme Siderum , among others, like Te Lucis Ante Terminum, Jesu Dulcis, and some psalm tones as the tunes for some lovely texts. The whole book uses newly composed texts set to chant tunes, and they go quite simply. My choirs have enjoyed, and they were easy to learn.
  • ryandryand
    rogue63,
    I used that a bit last year. Again ... probably not going to work at this parish. Not yet anyway, not with just a few minutes to teach the kids and have them sing it.

Ben,
    I'm not familiar with that but I'll check it out. Thanks.

• Adam WoodAdam Wood
    People Look East

Creator Alme Siderum- you may be familiar with it in English: Creator of the Stars of Night. There is almost nothing more Adventy.
  • BenBen
    Ryan,

It's a vespers hymm for advent. As Adam said, it's in many hymnals as Creator of the Stars of Night, with the tune often listed as the latin name.
  • Ally
    Yes, People Look East and Creator of the Stars of Night!
  • Adam WoodAdam Wood