Graduate school recommendations
  • mlabelle
    I am a third year undergrad at the University of Florida interested in a job as parish music director. This year I will look at prospective schools for my graduate studies. I originally started looking at Notre Dame, Catholic U, and Auburn, but have been told recently that those are not good schools for the kind of formation I desire.

Can anyone suggest some schools where I can get some solid liturgical and musical training? Preferably in the United States, but if that is not an option, I am not averse to studying abroad for a while.

-Mark
  • A few comments [as I put on both my parish music director hat and my collegiate academic advisor hat]:

The most important thing you can do to prepare for a career as a parish musician is to apprentice with a full-time musician who has the sort of program you would eventually like to lead. Usually this means working as an assistant musician in a large parish, but other arrangements are possible. What you definitely don't want to do is to be a full-time graduate student and have a part-time church job from which you learn very little. This would include being a full-charge musician in a parish with very low musical expectations or serving as an organist/accompanist with little chance to train choirs, help plan music, etc. Many people fall into this trap! A great situation, if you can find it and be sure that it will actually come together, is for one of your principal instructors to also be the musician with whom you apprentice outside of the classroom and, hopefully, outside of the college/university. I can enlarge on any of these comments, but that's the 'elevator conversation' version.
  • PaixGioiaAmorPaixGioiaAmor
    I'm not sure why Notre Dame or Catholic U are bad picks for you. I've heard good things about both and have not known them to be off in left field from what I've heard - especially Catholic U.