What should I be doing for school Masses?
  • To set the scene: I am a new music teacher in a Catholic primary school. I was raised in a distinctly non-liturgical church tradition and my teaching and performing background is primarily in instrumental music, so a lot of this is very new to me. Part of my job is to organize music for weekly school masses. In the past, this has meant hymns/songs for a processional and recessional, as well as communion and an offertory, so this is what I have been doing. (We sing the ordinary using the same setting that the parish uses on weekends, so I don't really have to worry about that.) The students are familiar with most of the standard hymns in addition to the more contemporary songs. I do try to schedule mostly traditional hymns and limit the contemporary/fluff to one per week, but I don't want a rebellion on my hands.

I have a great deal of respect for the traditions of the Church and I want to do this right. What else should I be doing to support high-quality liturgy and ensure that my students develop an understanding and appreciation for the musical heritage of the church? Is it necessary/practical to sing propers at a weekday Mass in a situation like this? How would I even go about instituting that?

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated!
  • Propers are always proper. In fact, selecting a seasonal antiphon that could be sung for either the entrance or comunion chant may encourage singing more than strophic hymnody. By Flowing Waters, which is an English adaptation of the simple gradual would be a good resource. For the responsorial psalm, I usually set the antiphon myself to a simple melody since weekday psalms aren't as readily available and then chant the verses to a psalm tone. The Ward Hymnal is also a good resource for simple yet beautiful hymns and chants that are not at all trite-available as a free download from Musica Sacra.
  • BenBen