Propers for use in Canada
  • I'm new to some of the ideas on the MusicaSacra website, such as using the Propers instead of my choice of hymns. Does it matter what translation of the Introit, Gradual, Alleluia, Offertory Chant and Communion Chant I use? I assume most of the texts on the MusicaSacra website are approved for use in the U.S. However, can I use them in Canada?

The only problem with translation that I've heard of was when some parishes in the U.S. started using some Canadian missalettes for weekday Mass that were based on a lectionary that had temporary approval for use only in Canada (we now have an approved lectionary). If the Vatican gives full approval for the liturgical use of a text in one country, does that approval allow other countries to use that text?

As well, I'm beginning to understand how the Mass is supposed to go, but what is the correct thing to do after the dismissal? Is it correct to sing a hymn at this point like the optional hymn after Communion?
  • PMulholland
    As a fellow Canadian here is my answer:
    The proper parts of the Mass are in the Missal. The Missal is translated by ICEL for all of the English speaking world, but does contain some differences between bishops conferences due to differences in English "use" from country to country.

The lectionary that is used in Canada is for Canada.

For a sung Mass, the propers come from the Graduale Romanum which (as a whole) has never been officially translated into English.
    The various English propers that you will encounter are acceptable to use so long as the translation itself is not erroneous. (I have never encountered such)