Overcoming objections with exisiting DM.
  • darth_linux
    Hi. This is the first discussion I've started, so if I've placed it in the wrong category, please move it to the appropriate one.

I decided to start my own Schola after moving from a large town to a small town and being overwhelmed by the bad Hagen/Haas music that is/was delivered to me each Saturday/Sunday at mass. I'm a public school music teacher by occupation, so I talked to a bunch of other music teachers in the district, found a few who were interested in chant and polyphony and took the plunge to form my own choir. Long story short, we sang our first liturgy on Good Friday, did 4 polyphonic pieces, sang both readings and the Psalm and chanted the Our Father. The response from the congregation was overwhelmingly favorable, so we were offered another "gig" providing music for the August 15th Mass of the Assumption. My group is independent from the parish, so I have contacted other parish priests to offer our "services" to their parish for special occasions.

Anyhow, I am modeling my group after the Schola at Gonzaga University in Spokane, which was run for quite a long time by Dr. Ed Schaefer, and I've purchased his congregational masters from his company Priory Press. After delivering the masters to the parish office to get it printed up in preparation for the date, the DM now has some issues with what we are doing.

They are:
    1st) *Why the mixture of Latin and English?*
    We sing the Ordinaries and Propers in Latin, and we sing everything else in English. We use the most common settings of the ordinaries from the Liber Cantualis, and the propers from the Gregorian Missal, plus some polyphony from CPDL.
    She mentioned that this wasn't a Tridentine Mass, so she was concerned about the mixture "Latin and Vernacular" (her words not mine).