instrumental music for penance service?
  • fp
    Our (GIA) parish is looking for recordings of instrumental sacred music to block the noise and the conversations during penance service.....I know...not ideal...just trying.....would any of you have a great ressource to suggest? (I wish I could use that opportunity to introduce them to real sacred music. Any reasonable suggestion would be welcome!) Thanks in advance!
    FP
  • irishtenoririshtenor
    Not instrumental, but consider a recording of Kevin Allen's Motecta Trium Vocum:

http://www.ccwatershed.org/motecta/
  • Allan DAllan D
    At the parish where I currently work as an organist, they play a Gregorian chant CD during penance services. It's the only time Gregorian chant is ever heard in this church. I don't know what album it is, but I think it might be Christmas music. At a previous job, I would play soft music on the organ for an hour or so during penance services. I enjoyed doing that because it was an opportunity to use pieces that were too long for Mass. Sometimes the music director and I would alternate between piano and organ in order to ensure that there were no breaks in the sound.

I think that any time you have confessions being heard out in the open, it's very important to have some kind of music playing to protect people's privacy. I don't have any objection to recorded music in this case, since it's serving a purely functional purpose, not a liturgical one.
  • BenBen
    A group near here plays a cd they made of some of the colloquium recordings... :) It actually works quite well.
  • Historically, our parish used a cd during this time to cover noise (usually 10-12 confession stations scattered around the church). For the last couple of years we started using the organ--it's nice to be able to go through the Lenten and Advent repertoire since we don't do any instrumental music during those season's liturgies. The change has been VERY well received by clergy and parishioners.
  • francis