Latest in Digital Pipe Organs & the Challenge of Excellent Sound Reproduction
  • francis
    OVERVIEW

I have been researching this topic for the past 6 months as I was the consultant for a recent installation in Wyoming. The church wanted to purchase something very inexpensive and asked me to find them a used instrument. Noel has been very helpful in this regard as he used to be employed by Allen and Rodgers (and may still be employed by Rodgers?).

The trick with digital organs is the sound system. It will make or break even the best digital organ available. Therefore, these things are VERY important no matter which make/model you purchase:

1. number of speakers
    2. placement of speakers
    3. voicing the organ AFTER speakers are permanently installed

ROLAND C-330

http://www.rodgersinstruments.com/rolandClassic

So we got to talking and Noel recommended the new Roland (yes, you read that correctly), C-330. Price is about 14k. Well, after hearing it (on CD), reading about the specs, I had the Wyoming dealer bring one up to the church to try it out. I couldn't be there for the installation as it installed on Dec 21, but went there a month later to do the inaugural dedicatory concert and I suggested a separate Blessing and Dedication which we did the day after, using it for hymns and such.

Well, what an instrument! I am a tracker buff from the wayback machine, and THIS is phenomenal!! Especially for the price. It took me a day to learn how to program it as it has a wealth of sounds which are accessed through a small digital panel on the side which you can call up by double clicking the tabs. You can hear this organ on Rodgers website (see link above) as they teamed up with Roland to build this little gem.

I HIGHLY recommend this organ for any church, large or small that is on a tight budget or that needs something for the price of an inexpensive car until you can get into something larger.

HAUPTWERK

http://www.hauptwerk.com/