If You Can Sing JOY TO THE WORLD You Can Learn To Read And Sing Gregorian Chant
  • In preparation for attending the Colloquium last year, I studied to prepare myself here at home, not sure what I needed to know and also not sure how much I knew. But, what to take with me? I eventually decided that Gregorian Chant by Mr. Apel would have to stay home (too heavy) and that Chant Made Simple by Robert M. Fowells might be useful. So it, along with some paperbacks to read during spare time, ended up in my bag.
    The paperbacks took up space and were unopened as each night I was too tired to read and as far as spare time...non-existent!
    The Fowells did help, but in retrospect, I would have been much better off to have Dr. Susan Treacy's book from Cantica Nova - A Plain and Easy Introduction to Gregorian Chant.

A Plain and Easy Introduction to Gregorian Chant

I did arrive home understanding things better, and decided to create a coloring book about chant for people that like to take time and do things that really lock in what they are learning - if you highlight what you read, you might find the student book useful. But then I decided to go further, creating a book that builds upon the way that scribes used to write chant with red for the FA line and green for the DO line...in this book, done in color, we disable the thinking that comes with modern music that ties us to treble and bass clefs for singing and using color, makes singing using the DO and FA clef simple, easy and memorable. Since this explanation might scare off beginners, for whom this book is written, the decision was made to base this all on the first phrase of JOY TO THE WORLD. To access a free download of the book and our other books including the Choirbook Series, send an email to download@thecatholicchoirbook.com with DOWNLOAD as the subject.

The chants in the book are in English.

Free printable, shareable downloads for all our books are available on the page.