English Gradual and Alleluia
  • I'm a newbie schola director, so I apologize if this is an obvious question. Is it possible to sing the Gradual of the Mass in English rather than the Responsorial Psalm from the Lectionary? Is there some "official" English translation of the gradual that I'm supposed to use? Is there some "official" book that contains it or provides the melody for it?

Similarly, is there some official English version of the alleluia verse/tract from the Graduale, as opposed to the one in the Lectionary? I would love to just use the Anglican Use gradual for everything, but I feel like I shouldn't use it for the Gradual and the Alleluia.

This is for a weekly Mass at ND in the Novus Ordo where we incorporate more traditional liturgical elements; it's sometimes in Latin, sometimes not. I'm hoping to have a more steady diet of chant, and I'd like to use some simple English chant for the gradual and alleluia.
  • In the dioceses of the United States of America, the following may also be sung in place of the Psalm assigned in the Lectionary for Mass: either the proper or seasonal antiphon and Psalm from the Lectionary, as found either in the Roman Gradual or Simple Gradual or in another musical setting; or an antiphon and Psalm from another collection of the psalms and antiphons, including psalms arranged in metrical form, providing that they have been approved by the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops or the Diocesan Bishop. Songs or hymns may not be used in place of the responsorial Psalm.

The "Gregorian Missal" by Solesmes (large, free PDF) is a good place to find the "proper" (Gradual) text referred to above. Note that the GIRM does not say anywhere that the Gradual text must be sung in Latin.

In theory, one could (seemingly) do any translation, since the Church has not approved any official translations for the Graduale Propers. However, I like the Gregorian Missal, because it has an IMPRIMATUR in the front of it.