A question on notation
  • Voce
    Here is a question from a chant novice. Not a complete novice however; I have been to two of Scott Turkington's excellent workshops, most recently the one in New Orleans. I live in a parish that is on the fringe between rural countryside and outer suburbia. No professional musicians and not much high art, and no Latin. Along with a couple of colleagues, we're working on bringing chant here, starting first with self-education.

I have an issue with chant notation, however. I have by now learned and am completely comfortable with square notes, neumes, and solfege. No undue problems, and reasonably easy to pick up the basics. What has been difficult is the shifting around of the position of "do" on the staff, depending upon the mode...I find it confusing and thus somewhat difficult to sight read when jumping from mode to mode in a group of chants, and cannot quite seem to get the hang of it. Yes, I know that the positions of "do" or "fa" are given with a clef sign, but I find it awkward that the position of "do" and of course the half steps move in various modes (in standard notation it moves too of course, but one typically is not using solfege with it, and there is of course a key signature). I read standard musical notation reasonably well--though I have no formal music training--so it is irritating not to get the hang of this. It affects my sight reading because when jumps and unfamiliar passages occur, I tend to hesitate (and err). And I worry that I shall not be alone as we introduce chant notation to others in our parish.