Gregorian chant and missionary inculturation
  • I am brand new to the CMA forum, not quite as new to the world of Gregorian chant. A friend from my schola told me that I may find some insight into this question here in this forum... so here goes.

I've recently begun correspondence with someone who categorizes himself as having a "modern" liturgical preference, while I definitely favor more traditional liturgy (i.e. liturgy that follows the Roman Missal, uses the propers, etc.) One thing that is important to him is the inclusion of regional cultural elements in the liturgy, particularly in mission countries. I attended the World Mission Sunday Mass in St. Peter's Square in Rome in 2000, and there were many cultural elements, such as an African dance during the offertory procession, that were very universal and beautiful.

Admittedly, I have not done research on this topic on my own. But any thoughts on the following:

- Historically (before the 1970 Missal) how was the Mass introduced in mission lands? Were the Latin propers taught? Were sacred songs in the vernaciular ever used?
    - Today, what is appropriate in this regard? Is the inclusion of elements of local culture permissible?

Thanks for your thoughts.
    God bless you.
  • RagueneauRagueneau
    An example of how chant was rendered for the Native Americans in the time of St. Noël Chabanel and St. Antoine Daniel: SAMPLE PAGE (PDF file)

courtesy of Claudio R. Salvucci's book "The Roman Rite in the Algonquian & Iroquoian Missions"

Pretty fascinating, huh? Many of those books were printed, because there was an indult for Native Americans to have certain parts of the Mass in their vernacular.

AN EXCERPT from the PDF:

Thanked by 1eft94530