• Robsc
    Hello, I'm new to these forum.

Question: how many of you have to deal with Lifeteen in your parishes?

Have any of you successfully gotten rid of it, if so how?

In my 20 years of work for the Catholic Church I've never had anything as remotely difficult to deal with as the Lifeteen Movement.

Rob
  • Adam WoodAdam Wood
    This might be completely ridiculous, and I have no direct experience to back up that this is a good idea, but...

What about infiltrating LifeTeen?
    Introduce some Gregorian chant with a techno beat or elec. guitar accomp; do a "rock" version of some polyphonic music...
    Then, once they like it, slowly but surely, start removing the instruments.
    "No, man! You're doing great- love those sweet power chords you've been workin' on. But- just to be different- lets try this one 'unplugged' and see how it goes."

Just a thought...
  • David AndrewDavid Andrew
    If you're in a suburban parish, new to the job, and value being employed, you'll let it be. If you're responsible for directing it, and this wasn't clear in your job interview, explain that this "style" of music isn't your strength and find a volunteer who would be willing to "ride herd" on the group. If it was clear, and you fixed in your mind that this was the first thing you'd tackle, this will be the ditch you die in, and it won't be pretty.

Jeffrey Tucker has addressed the question of different music at different Masses, and it would be well worth reading up on his philosophy. The "infiltration" idea will likely be met with suspicion and resistance, especially if you're known to be an advocate for chant, polyphony and organ music.