Candlemas, Colloquium, Change: Thanks CMAA
  • Dear Colleagues,

This may seem a bit long. Still I wanted to share this story with you.

Two summers ago I hesitantly waited to sign-up for the Chicago Colloquium at Loyola. To my great delight, a fellow colleague and dear friend, suggested that I should have no qualms about going. (I wasn’t sure this was for me. I have been ministering as a lay musician for over thirty years and I was looking for something more than a convention endorsed by marketing interest groups. I was looking for something that was Roman Catholic, with enough Sacred Music and Liturgy formation sessions, that would inspire me as a Director of Worship and Sacred Music, Organist.)

I must say, that Colloquium was a spiritual high for me, a musical banquet of the best sacred music and the professionalism and fellowship was the right fit for me. From the first Mass, I knew this was the right choice for me. That first Mass, along with two trips to Rome recently – one with 30 choir members singing for masses at St. Peter’s, a concert in Rome, etc. and 50 parishioners, has changed my perspective of Sacred Music in the Mass. I have attended NPM Conventions since the first one in Scranton. I have gained a great deal from these conventions in my formative years as a liturgical musician. But in the last decade I did not find them helpful for my parish work. Actually, I considered my attending these convention, each with a real “convention” atmosphere, large exhibit halls selling all kinds of religious wares and Christian music of all types not helpful at all. In fact, I really came to the conviction that to attend another would not be a good stewardship on my part. I had longed for a spiritual conference that would challenge me musically, spiritually, liturgically and professionally.