old vs. new solesmes
  • This is my first time on the forum, so if you have discussed this to death, then please ignore it. I am a priest and spent some time yesterday at a choir practice in which a very competent director tried to do the Introit Adorate Deum with the Choir. He had with him copies of the Introit from the Graduale Romanum 1974 (?) as well as some German book which apparently has the "New Solesmes" notation. I have sung this Introit for years according to what is apparently an Old Solesmes way. The notes for the German book are different, the liquescents were odd, there was not an ictus or an episema to be found, there were flats all over the place, making tes out of tis, etc. In an interview before the practice, the director talked about this new method being more historically accurate according to the recent scholarship. I was intrigued, but after seeing it in action on the page, with his trying to direct and hearing it, I was left with chills up my spine. I was left with the feeling, "I don't care whether or not this may be more accurate, I hate how it sounds and I will never allow this in my parish." Am I just being a philistine or am I correct in intuiting that, like was said of Wagner, the music is better than it sounds? Discuss. Fr Smith
  • BGP
    Did it look like this

http://www.gregor-und-taube.de/E.03._Sonntag_im_Jahreskreis.pdf
  • Dear Fr. Smith,

I think that I can speak on the behalf of many here that this topic indeed "sends chills down the spine"--it can definitely make one shudder! This is not necessarily for the reason that you felt the chills down the spine--in fact, I am a supporter and practitioner of the "new" Solesmes thinking--but the reason why many here avoid this conversation, I think, is because it can be extremely polarizing, fiery and divisive. Just search for the term "semiology" above and you can get a taste of this!