Question about the possibility of adding chords scores.
  • marajoymarajoy
    I'm just curious...why? For what purpose would the vocalist or other musician want chords when there is already a written accompaniment?
  • JDE
    We could be the publishers of the very first Parish Fakebook of English Hymns.
  • JDE
    Seriously, I think leadsheets are basically for people who can't really read music, or for those who are skilled in improvisation. Not sure why they would be necessary otherwise.
  • I guess this would make sense if we are promoting guitar music in mass.
  • I'm all in favor of these! I can't read music very well. My first instrument was guitar 12 years ago, and I've been playing piano for about 5 years. So these help really well, as I think mostly in chords.
    And no, I don't play guitar at Mass. :)
  • don roy
    im reminded of the rather pityful attempts at playing traditional music by incompitent musicians back in the early days of vatical II. such playing made singing laborious and with little energy and directly lead to the glory and praise hijack. No offense orourkebr but playing block chords and a melody sounds like chords and a melody. it does the traditional movement no favors.
  • As an erstwhile liturgical pianist who used to play much so-called contemporary music off of guitar accompaniments — because (1) I didn't feel the need to practice, (2) it was easier for me to improvise than to learn, and (3) I thought the keyboard accompaniments to most contemporary tunes were poor and not worth learning anyway — I would have appreciated these in my younger days. I'm sure that others in a similar situation would, too.

I think one question would concern motive: cater to the market or educate the market? I know where I stand on this, but others may differ.
  • RagueneauRagueneau
    thank you for these opinions!