C and F clef in Mode II Chant
  • CantorCole
    Hello all,

I have a question about mode II. From what I can tell, most modes are consistent in which clef they use. With mode II however, there seems to be a non-negligible usage of F clef in addition to the more typical C-clef. I am wondering if the mode 2, C-clef Alleluia O Filii et Filiae can be used with an F-clef Mode II chant without sounding off (my initial guess is no).

I am a self-taught amateur chanter who has forgotten most of the basic music theory I inculcated subconsciously in middle school band, so I am asking for some help.

Thank you,
    CantorCole
  • Yes, it works just fine to substitute. If the chant had the note Fa, there would be an issue, but it doesn't, so everything is fine.

The scale of Fa to Fa with Ti flatted to Te is exactly the same as the scale of Do to Do (in terms of intervals, where the whole steps and half steps are).
    Thanked by 1FSSPmusic
  • CantorCole
    @OMagnumMysterium ,

So if the "O Filii et Filiae" Alleluia had a Fa, then it would be an issue, you are saying?
  • FSSPmusic
  • @CantorCole

Well, it would still be possible to notate "O Filii et Filiae" in Fa clef even if it had a Fa originally, but every Fa would have to become a Te, and would need a flat sign (following the usual conventions). It could be a bit messy but not necessarily an issue.

The Fa of the Do-Do scale is the equivalent note of the Ti in the Fa-Fa scale. But if you overlay the Fa-Fa and Do-Do scales, making the two scales start and end on the same notes, Ti is half a step higher than Fa. Fa has its half step with the note below (Mi), but Ti with the note above (Do). Flattening the Ti to Te would make the two scales line up perfectly, just like how the C major scale with B flat is the F major scale.

@FSSPmusic

Out of curiosity, what would mode IX be then?
  • CantorCole
    @OMagnumMysterium

Like this?

annotation: 2
    %%