How appropriate is major key music in Lent?
  • Hi, first post here but I've lurked around as a reader for a while

I'm an amateur composer and a Catholic, with no previous experience of writing liturgical music. I decided to write something to submit for the Notre dame Magnificat Choir "Liturgy Alive" composition contest. The task is to set these verses (in Spanish) to music for an offertory piece:

The Lord will overshadow you with his pinions,
    and you will find refuge under his wings.
    His faithfulness will encompass you with a shield.

I wrote a draft that is in a major key and somewhat uplifting, but also at a slow tempo so more contemplative and not over-joyous. Anyways while going back over the brief I realized that this is specifically for the first Sunday in Lent.

I know from going to Mass that not every piece of music is sombre during Lent but I'm wondering what are the general considerations made when choosing music during Lent? I would consider the text above to be straightforwardly "happy" for lack of a better word. There is no overtone of penitence or sin, it's about being made safe. So in my mind the music should reflect those sentiments. But now I wonder if the tone of liturgical season should override the tone of any specific text read during that season.

Any thoughts are much appreciated. Thanks.
  • For what it's worth, Attende Domine is a quintessential Lenten piece and (though it is modal since it's chant) it is quite major-sounding.
  • Consider last week’s propers. They were all about our Lord’s mercy and forgiveness. This coming Sunday is Gaudete Sunday which is supposed to be exuberant and full of joy.

While advent is penitential, it is not lent. It is full of excited longing. I don’t think there is anything wrong with major.

Also, think of other well-known Advent chants: Conditor alme siderum and Corde Natus, to name just two. Also very major sounding. As is Missa XVII, for that matter.