Catholic female religious order for classical musicians
  • Hey everyone,
    I am a professional violinist considering the religious life.
    My dream would be to be able to continue seriously doing music as a religious sister, for example by playing classical music in the context of the liturgy or giving concerts with the aim of evangelization. Ideally there would be sufficient time for daily individual practise (several hours) to maintain a good level of playing and a group of other professional musicians in the community with whom we could play together. It could also be connected to education and teaching.
    Being a religious community, the day would of course be centered around prayer: Holy Mass, Divine Office, mental prayer, Eucharistic adoration, the Rosary...
    Has anyone heard of a catholic religious order for women that is somewhat similar to what I have described? Or is such a congregation yet to be founded?
    Thank you for any input!
    Thanked by 1Bri
  • Prayers that you may find your dream.
  • JDTJDT
    Search for the Filiae Laboris Mariae in Minnesota and Wisconsin. Not specifically geared towards sacred music, however I know that many of them sing for their respective congregations. They are a fairly new order, but growing quickly. Prayers for you!
    Thanked by 2CHGiffen Bri
  • I dont know of any order specifically dedicated to music but in that area I would say:

Dominicans of St Cecilia
    Servants of the Lord and the Virgin of Matara (Contemplative and Active Branches)
    Marian Sisters of Santa Rosa
    Sisters of Mary Mother of the Church