Piano to Organ- need tips
  • PolskaPiano
    I'm a pianist. I have had a few years of organ lessons is all.
    I can play 4 part hymnody and chant on the organ mainly as written, but I struggle with arranging piano songs for organ.
    I'm playing a funeral Wednesday and the family has asked for "as much organ as possible."
    I've got the psalm, gospel acclamation, and the communion hymn prepped for organ.
    I'd like to play the requested hymn "Make Me a Channel of Your Peace" on the organ as well.
    The other songs are "Precious Lord, Take My Hand" and "On Eagle's Wings."

FWIW, Please not too much grousing on the song choices. I am happy to play them all because this family has been through the wringer losing two sons (in their 30s) in two years.
  • Polska Piano,

I won't grouse about the choice of songs. I will point out, though, that "Make me a channel of your peace" works very poorly in the transition: it can either be faithful to the original musical ideas or be made to work on the organ, but not both.
    Thanked by 1PolskaPiano
  • GerardH
    For hymns with arpeggiated piano accompaniment, my usual solution is to sustain the bass note of each arpeggio in the pedal, and often to hold onto one or two (but not all) notes in the chord. Picking out the melody in the right hand with a softer accompaniment in the left can be effective.

I won't say it's the best solution, but it works for me.
    Thanked by 1PolskaPiano
  • CharlesW
    I have found that "On Beagle's Wings" can not be easily played as written in the GIA hymnal I used. The chorus was ok but I had to chord those arpeggios on the verses on the "yoo hoo" song - you who dwell... You could always waltz "Make Me a Channel..." but I am kidding on that. I haven't played that in some time but it seems I had to chord the left hand on it, too. Of course, play the root of the chord on the pedal.
    Thanked by 1PolskaPiano
  • MarkB