Other organists at your parish
  • My line of thinking was spurred by the discussion of rights of first refusal and bench fees. I know many times the director of music is contracted to play for all masses each weekend. How does this play out in practice if you have members of the parish who play or are interested in playing? I'm an accountant, but I love playing organ for church as a hobby and am definitely a competent organist. What would you do if someone like me moved to the parish? I'm also thinking about anyone in the parish who is interested in learning to play organ. In your experience, when the director is hired to play for all masses, are there still opportunities for others to play as well?

In a lot of the parishes in my area, many of the accompanists are people from the parish, and then the director just fills in the other masses and leads the choir.
  • It is going to somewhat depend on individual parish dynamics, and certainly the personalities involved, so it is difficult to give a blanket answer.

In my case, I would be more than happy to have a parishioner who was competent fill in when needed, or even take a mass regularly on a rota. I'd certainly be happy for a competent accompanist when we attempt to do larger works which require more conducting.

I do have a student at the parish who took lessons from me, and I've had him sub for me once or twice and he's played postludes on a number of occasions. He's excited and I'm happy to give him a moment to shine.