Choir of St John's College, Cambridge with mixed boy's and girl's voices
  • I was a student at this school back in the late 1970s. I'm sad to see the change because I don't believe that it is based on musically sound arguments, but rather "being late to the party".

I know St. Mary's in Edinburgh, too.

George Guest, David Willcocks and Boris Ord are turning in their graves. I would imagine Stephen Cleobury isn't happy.
  • a_f_hawkins
    Andrew Nethsingha, who is said to have led this change, has just been named to take over at Westminster Abbey.
  • Failing upwards, I guess.
  • ServiamScores
    One doesn't see the opposite happening
    "trans" sports.

but I digress...
    _____

I don't have an issue with adding a combined choir to the rotation... but when they dismantle the regular choir in the name of inclusion, they simply commit cultural vandalism. Not only is there nothing intrinsically wrong with all-male choirs (as some would have you believe), there are, in fact, many things positively good about them! There is centuries-old tradition, for starters, to say nothing of the peculiar sound that only boy trebles can make (a sound for which a vast opus was specifically written).
    Thanked by 1LauraKaz
  • Richard MixRichard Mix
    to say nothing of the peculiar sound that only boy trebles can make
    It's funny though that the people making this argument are opposed to blind auditions.
    Thanked by 1Liam
  • francis
    Blind auditions=red herring

Trans-The underbelly agenda
  • SalieriSalieri