Baccalaureate Mass During Advent
  • I am an undergraduate at Ave Maria University and direct the Camerata, our student-led choir that sings for the masses on campus. We have been asked to sing for a baccalaureate mass in December to accompany make-up graduation ceremonies from the Spring due to COVID.

We typically use the Simple English Propers for Offertory and Communion antiphons. We will be using the Hassler MIssa secunda for the Ordinaries. We are waiting for the celebrant to inform us if we will be singing the Gloria since it would be his decision during Advent whether to include it. We are singing Jesus my Lord, my God, my all! (SWEET SACRAMENT) for Communion Hymn, the Byrd Non nobis Domine for meditation, and Immaculate Mary for recessional.

My struggle has been with choosing a processional piece and an entrance hymn. I have read from various sources that the solo organ generally isn't used during penitential seasons but that there are some circumstances for exemptions. I really would like to sing O God Beyond All Praising (THAXTED) but I don't know if it is appropriate during Advent.

Please advise!

Thank you
  • GambaGamba
    Hi!

What date is the Mass? That is going to impact your choices in a big way. If it’s on a Sunday, or a weekday between 17-24 December, only the proper Advent Masses can be celebrated – those days rank too highly to celebrate a votive Mass, which is the only way you could have a Gloria unless it’s on a Solemnity.

I think the Mass that is actually being celebrated will have to be the guide for what is done. If it’s a Votive of the Holy Spirit or of the BVM or the Solemnity of the Immaculate Conception or some other thing, then do music appropriate for that. If it’s Advent, it’s Advent.