Has anyone ever heard the Martin Mass for Double Choir in a liturgical setting?
  • Just curious. That would be a dream.
  • Toronto Oratory, pretty sure.
    Pizzetti Requiem, too, last year for All Souls! Talk about a dream!
  • I sang in the choir when it was done for the pontifical mass at the Sacra Liturgia Conference in New York in 2015. Maestro David Hughes (CMAA board member) conducted. An unforgettable experience.
    Thanked by 1CHGiffen
  • BruceL
    The UT-Austin Concert Chorale sang it for a Missa Cantata at St. Mary Cathedral in Austin. Maybe in 2007 or 2008? I was a grad student at UT then. Fr. Robert Bradley, SJ (RIP), was the celebrant, and chant was led by Brooks Whitmore (who I believe is on here!)
  • Westminster Cathedral in London. They’ve also recorded it on the Hyperion label
  • It is on my calendar at some point in the next two years.
  • It's a lovely piece of music, but the last time I looked at it, I couldn't help but think it didn't belong in a liturgical setting at all... It simply didn't score well for me against Inter Sollicitudines.

Let's also remember that the composer was a Calvinist with no understanding or experience of the Catholic context, and who wrote the work as a personal, private devotion, never intending its performance in any context, let alone a liturgical (Catholic) one.
  • Palestrina -