Masters in Liturgy/Sacred Music: Recommendations?
  • BrLeo
    Hello all,

I am a musician-in-training at a Benedictine monastery. Been learning the organ for about 15 months, and will likely become choirmaster at some point. I am looking at the possibility of pursuing a masters program in either Liturgy or Sacred Music, somewhere where I could gain competency in both fields. Have looked at places like Univ. St. Mary on the Lake, Univ. St. Thomas Houston, Catholic Univ. of America, St. Meinrad, St. John (Collegeville).

Most music masters programs require a B.A. in music, which I don't have (I majored in English Lit.), so Liturgy is probably more feasible. I have an intermediate-advanced knowledge of theory/harmonization from several years of playing piano and singing with others, and have been learning the organ for the past 15 months; I have no formal education in music outside of that.

I look forward reading your input -- Thank you very much!

• irishtenoririshtenor
    Univ. of St. Mary of the Lake is the best place to study liturgy. You’ll probably have to seek private/alternate arrangements for music study, perhaps at Northwestern.
  • Brother Leo,

Degrees in music are less likely to bring upon you heaps of scorn.
    The public worship of the Church can be studied, and should be better and more widely known than it is, so please construe my hesitation as a reluctance to endorse what most liturgy programs will teach you.

I don't know the programs at any of these institutions, and I do know that while the theology department at Notre Dame (in South Bend) is wacky, other departments are not so, so the general reputation of an institution isn't necessarily a guide.
  • Brother Leo,