How many people here teach?
  • I'm curious how many of the participants here teach regularly? I would include directing a church choir as a form of teaching, but do you also teach in other capacities, such as teaching organ, teaching chant or voice, or other instruments? Do you teach only in the parish or also in private or at a music school or elsewhere? Are you paid to teach or is it volunteer?

Any comments on how this has worked out for you?
  • CharlesW
    I retired from full-time teaching. Being a librarian, music teacher, and computer science teacher was pretty broad in subject matter and took an incredible amount of time. I'm still a part-time librarian with a federal agency and am nearing retirement from church music. My music teaching is more coaching for aspiring musicians who can't afford lessons. Yes, all the items listed in the original post are valid forms of teaching.
  • tomjaw
    I am a private tutor (Chemistry, General Science, Physical Geography and Maths) but also run our choir (EF). I am also involved in the training programme for our children's schola.
  • I teach 9th grade US History... Guessing that probably doesn't count.
  • Ages ago... now in IT. Taught at least some subjects for most grade levels in small school settings, including a short time as an adjunct at a local college and corporate training for quite some time on various software systems and business skills.