Organists vs. Singers?
  • chonakchonak
    Welcome to the forum, Heartfeltsong (new user).

This new user's comment was posted on an old discussion about soloists, but it really deserves to have its own thread.
  • Hi:
    I'm new to this blog but in church music 33 years. For most of that time I was fortunate enough to have a pastor and a music director who were happy to have me solo on special occassions. This "rule" about what is appropriate or not at Mass is certainly not a religious "must." Violating it won't get you excommunicated or burned at the stake.
    While our choir was not a regular performing one, I often sang solo during Masses at which they did perform.
    I have a real bone to pick with the Catholic idea that the one running the show has to be a keyboard player with or without a degree. You organists have a guild and that has given you a big say-so. Meanwhile we vocalists who have skill and put in the sweat are pushed aside because the orgainist really hasn't the desire to put in the extra time to learn solo repertoire accompaniments that are usually a good deal harder than the choral stuff I have been hearing at Masses where the choir does the vocals. Most choir members are untrained and often don't read music so this keeps the MD (keyboard player) in an authoritative and unchallenged position. It does not make him/her a good choice for training cantors or choirs or for picking good music to sing---yes that is what the parish does. It doesn't play it sings so a singer should be the one in charge of singing.
    Given that situation do you really want to sing at church unless you love being in a choir?
    Where this whole soloing is inappropriate for Mass came from I'd be interested to know.
    It certainly doesn't come from any congregation I have performed for--and yes it is a performance as surely as giving a good sermon is. Sometimes the solo can be done preceeding the Mass like a prelude.