Collegiate Sacred Music programs??
  • Let's hear some opinions.

Does St. Olaf College or Westminster Choir College have a better program for sacred music? Choral studies in general? Music education?

Thanks!
  • GambaGamba
    PM me. I graduated with a MM in sacred music (organ emphasis) from Westminster last year.
    Thanked by 1jordanklotz01
  • Westminster.
    Thanked by 1jordanklotz01
  • Liam
    Does anyone connected to Westminster have a sense for how its pending sale may affect its operations?

https://www.nytimes.com/2018/06/21/nyregion/westminster-choir-college-rider-sale.html
  • dad29
    You could look at CUA's Benjamin Rome School of Music, too. CUA has been much more Catholic in the last 5 years, and their summertime Chant program is outstanding.
  • GambaGamba
    @Liam

Multiple lawsuits are currently going on to prevent the sale. The most recent:

https://planetprinceton.com/2018/09/10/new-lawsuit-filed-to-stop-rider-universitys-sale-of-westminster-choir-college/

The sale cannot go through until the lawsuits are out of the way.

The several suits are based on two facts.

1) the land WCC sits on was donated by Princeton Theological Seminary in 1935, for the express purpose of training church musicians. If the property ceased to be used for that purpose, ownership would revert to the seminary. So PTS says WCC cannot be sold to someone who would not continue its mission.

2) when Rider acquired WCC in ‘92, it promised to run WCC in perpetuity according to its original mission. If Rider could not do so, WCC would have to become independent, or transferred to another university that could sustain it.