Are Multiple Ministerial Roles Permitted At Same Mass?
  • Hello, I am new to Musica Sacra,
    I have some questions about what I perceive to be some "strange" happenings in this choir I joined within the past year, and I was hoping to get some feedback. This is a small choir (i.e.,4-7 members) in a small parish, and the Music Ministry has been in quite a state of upheaval for the past 2 yrs. In fact, many of the English-speaking parishioners have left the parish because of poor choices a previous pastor made with regard to hymnals, music, etc.... There is no Music Director, no Choir Director, and the individuals with the greatest amount of musical training are the organist and me. I have been a liturgical music minister since the age of 9, play 3 instruments, have had formal vocal instruction, and have served in 7 separate parishes and 2 Catholic schools over the course of my lifetime. I have always been taught that when a Music Minister is serving in the Ministry of Music, that minister may not also perform another lay ministerial function during the same Mass.