Feeling like a newbie!
  • Thank you for adding me to this group. I have a degree in Liturgical Music (BM, Lit.) from a small Catholic college. I have also had a position of Director of Music for over 10 years. Sadly, the Latin program had already been dismissed and there was no gregorian chant instruction, nor instruction in the EF. I did what I understood at the time- what all churches did- choosing hymns according to the readings. I spent at least an hour planning each mass. I thought I was doing a good job by not using theologically fuzzy or incorrect hymns, choosing hymns with dignity or some gravitas, and eventually I would choose my entrance and communion songs based on the antiphons. When I read Pope Benedict wanted everyone working towards chant in the liturgy, I found Richard Proulx's Missa Simplex. Over the years, my choir asked to sing the Easter Sequence in Latin instead of English. We did the same for Pange Lingua. You get the idea. I did my best with what I could at the time. I was teaching myself, but with only a stipened work and pay, I didn't have much time to go deeper. I am now at a full time position. A funny thing has happened- I cringe at the liturgical music I am providing. I don't want the 4-sqaure hymns- partly because they aren't beautiful or good. The music seems cheap, contrived all of a sudden. The biggest beef I have is the text. I made clear at my interview that I believe it important to keep our treasure of chant alive in our parish and hand down to each generation. The pastor agreed. However, just the other day he told me to choose the entrance hymn based on the readings and not the antiphon to support the "theme" of the mass. He told me the rest could be "medatative."