Catholic Organ Music before 1750
  • Hi everyone,

It's my first post!

There's a similar discussion here:
    http://musicasacra.com/forum/comments.php?DiscussionID=21

but I am specifically interested in organ music which is used for Tridentine/Traditional/Latin Mass and composed before 1750. I was wondering what is good and known to anyone here.

So far, I have heard of:
    Couperin's Two Masses for Organ (since it's French, it might not work well everywhere)
    Frescobaldi's Fiori Musicali
    Speth's Versets (I have random versets of his, and can't seem to find a full collection anywhere)
    Zipoli's Organ Works

Is there anything else that anyone likes?
  • David AndrewDavid Andrew
    Greetings, Jeffrey.

You've hit on an interesting concept here. I studied the Messe pour les parroises of Couperin for my master's degree, focusing in part on the legislative documents governing the use of the organ in the liturgy. Paris had its own ceremoniale which governed the "when's and how's" of the alternatim practice employed in the organ Masses.

My point is, if you are interested in recreating the experience of the alternatim organ mass, which was in vogue at the time (and I believe used in Italy and Spain as well) then these sets of versets will be quite valuable. I believe the practice of alternatim in France disappeared during the Revolution, and afterwards was resurrected in a different form until the Catholic church was no longer recognized as the official state religion in 1905. There are some interesting recordings of Pierre Cochereau at Notre Dame improvising some alternatim on things like the Te Deum and the sequence hymns, but these were performances that I don't think took place during actual liturgies.

I also have to wonder if the application of the alternatim practice to the Missal of 1962 is appropriate, or even "permitted" by the legislative documents that govern the ritual practices of the Mass according to the 1962 Missal.