Meinrad Psalm Tones
  • AlVotta
    Living in (and being from) Southeastern Brazil, I've learned a lot reading American sites and blogs about sacred music.

I'm currently a church musician, working as a volunteer - play the organ and sing.

I've found the Meinrad Psalm Tones made available for free on the internet:
    http://www.lulu.com/items/volume_63/3744000/3744051/1/print/Modal_Psalm_Tones_Organ.pdf

BUT I need to know how free their use is. I would like to use them for a Gloria setting to be sung by the whole congregation. I've been using responsorial Gloria pieces I wrote myself in which only the refrain is sung by all, and I would like to change this.

I don't intend to use the Meinrad Psalm Tones for the Responsorial Psalm, for which I've been using the Gregorian Psalm Tones.

In a few words, I'd like to know if there are any copyright constraints that might make it impossible for me to use the Meinrad formulae.
  • David AndrewDavid Andrew
    Actually, if you go directly to the St. Meinrad website, you'll find that they've composed several settings of the Gloria; no need to re-invent the wheel.

Here's the direct link to their music products: http://www.saintmeinrad.edu/monastery_lit_musicproducts.aspx
  • RagueneauRagueneau
    remarkable to me that they give no samples, so you have NO idea what the music is like....
  • RagueneauRagueneau
    I doubt the Meinrad tones are under copyright in South America

I would be very interested if it is legal to use the Meinrad tones.

Has anyone WRITTEN to the Abbey and asked them?
  • AlVotta
    Jeff and David, thank you.

David, the point is: I need to set Gloria in my language, Portuguese. The website doesn't say if their settings are in English or Latin.

I've been changing things a little quickly, so a Latin Gloria would be enormously daring at the moment.
  • David AndrewDavid Andrew
    My apologies for misunderstanding your situation.