Some new Renaissance-style works
  • Evan M
    Hello everyone,

Since I see that many people on this forum enjoy music of, and inspired by, the Renaissance, I'd like to present some compositions in a stricter imitation of this style than is usually seen. Feel free to use, perform, etc.

I am a graduate student in mathematics, and I have enjoyed singing, accompanying, and composing for masses at the various universities where I have been and will go.
  • CHGiffenCHGiffen
    Very nicely done, congratulations and thanks for posting these. You are not the only mathematician here who enjoys and is inspired by music of the Renaissance, who also composes in (more or less) strict imitation of this style. I hope you will become a regular here.
  • Awfully nice!
    Are you going to send these to Oxford?
  • ghmus7
    Unfortunately (or fortunately depending on your view) Oxford does not accept unsolicited Mss. They basically publish John Rutter and a few other folks.
    Thanked by 1M. Jackson Osborn
  • Evan,

If I were wearing a hat, I would now have taken it off to you. Well done, indeed.

• canadashcanadash
    This is exactly what I need for my quartet. Thanks!
  • Alan Hovhaness has given us a number of admirably crafted 'neo-renaissance' motets.
    'Praise ye the Lord' is one I have done many times. It is clean, not difficult, only about three pages long, and a pleasure to sing. There are others whose text I cannot recall just now. A good one for an approaching feast is 'As They Came Down From the Mountain', for Transfiguration. It has contrasting sections of baritone solo over an 'ooing' choir singing in clean textures, and pure motet sections for SATB. Really Fine!
    Thanked by 1Salieri
  • "ooing" -- didn't you say in another thread that this was intolerable?
  • SalieriSalieri
    "ooing" -- didn't you say in another thread that this was intolerable?

'Twas humming to which the honourable member objected.