Number of Ensembles to Rehearse
  • madorganist
    I currently have adult and children's choirs that practice once a week and a men's schola that practices twice a week (not including warmup before Mass) and sings full propers every Sunday. Some of the parents want to start a choir for the younger kids (ages 5-7 or so) and the pastor seems to be enthusiastic about the idea. I'm currently paid a salary based on a 20-25-hour workweek. With four rehearsals for three ensembles plus organ practice and the typical administrative duties, there's really no time to add anything else. It's challenging enough to complete my existing workload in the 25 hours I'm paid for. Does anyone here currently direct more than three choirs or ensembles each week? Would this be typical even for a full-time position?

In addition to my concerns about the number of hours worked (and compensated), I have very little experience teaching music to children this young. In the churches I've worked for in the past as well as the ones I grew up in, the choirs for the little ones, usually with names like the "Angel Choir" or "Cherub Choir," were directed by volunteers from the parish and sang once every two or three months, usually as a prelude. Is this arrangement also typical elsewhere? In your experience, what are the best cut-off ages for a children's choir?
  • ClergetKubiszClergetKubisz
    Some of the parents want to start a choir for the younger kids (ages 5-7 or so) and the pastor seems to be enthusiastic about the idea.