Ellecombe Fanfare (Tpt & Org)
  • ZacPB189ZacPB189
    I spend about 97.5% of my time on this forum lurking, but I've made a post here and there. Anyway, I always enjoy seeing the new compositions people post and I thought I'd put one up myself. Some background about myself, I guess, would be in order, because I don't think I've done a proper introduction:

My name, as my username most definitly gives away, is Zac; I herald from a bit outside of Madison, WI. I've just completed my bachelors this last December at UW-Platteville, where I studied trumpet mainly, but picked up organ as a "side" instrument as well. (If you're in the Dane County area and need/would like a trumpet player, what with Easter coming up.....) Composing, however, has always been my main interest, though due to circumstances completely out of my control, was something I had to pretty much teach myself (with the occasional guidance from my band/orch-directors in grade school), though not without the rare reward (the occasional performance, premier, etc...). I could go into my exposure to church music, but I don't want to turn this into an autobiography.

This piece was written this last summer at the request of a friend in my trumpet studio, who asked me if I knew any good fanfares for Trumpet and Organ that he could use at his [reformed/protestant] church within two weeks with one rehearsal. Knowing the laughable state of music for trumpet and organ (where the organ part is almost always written with Diane Bish or Virgil Fox in mind and the trumpet part treats notes in the staff as too low), I offered to write him one, and finished it in a little less than a week. It's all based in the hymn-tune "Ellecombe", which despite its heavy use by Anglicans, is actually a German Catholic tune, that's been paired with a Marian text and a Eucharistic text (which is much more similar in meter to the English texts used).