Muffat 'Apparatus': Difficulty, registration suggestions, any tips?
  • I studied this collection during my thesis and I really enjoy it, especially the Ciacona. My teacher wants me to start working on a "big" piece and I'd love to do that one first. I've listened to some recordings on YouTube but none of them really seemed to "strike a chord" with me. I don't know anything about the instrument Muffat would have had during that time (published 1696 so he's still at Salzburg then), but I do like to stay faithful to those details when and if it's possible. The only available copy from my university library is a Peters Edition which adds pedal and probably a whole host of other stuff Muffat wouldn't have intended. I haven't checked the manuscript copy on IMSLP for a while, but if a modern print of the manuscript exists it would be nice to take a peek at it.
  • doneill
    There is a great recording by Michael Radulescu of the entire Apparatus - I hope it's still available. It was recorded on the stylistically appropriate organ of the Michaelerkirche in Vienna. The best edition is by Doblinger - get that, and it will be of great benefit. It is great music and highly useful for playing Catholic liturgies.
    Thanked by 1BruceL
  • CharlesW
    This is one of my favorite Muffat pieces, played by an excellent organist on an historic instrument. I am assuming you mean Georg Muffat? Also, have you read, "Georg Muffat On Performance Practice," available from Barnes & Noble? Although mostly concerned with violin, still contains some interesting info about the period and styles.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=srvKsvAf_JA
  • Richard MixRichard Mix
    The now rather quiescent piporg-l can be searched for threads on Muffat.

I haven't yet got a promised answer to a query about temperaments arising from toccata XI.