Where to look for jobs??
  • I am currently a MM-choral conducting student (graduating in May 2009) and I am beginning to look for a job. It is my strong hope that I can find sacred music job, either with a Catholic church or a Catholic university. I will not get much help from my major professor with this, (though he is generally wonderful with helping his graduates find suitable jobs) simply because he does not have contacts in these areas. Can anyone give me some ideas as to where (other than this very website) to look for job openings? Thank you very much!
  • GavinGavin
    Your local AGO chapter may have postings.
  • Try this AGO posting:
    http://www.agohq.org/profession/indexjobs.html

Also, look in the back of (or take out your own ad in) recent issues
    of the AGO's monthly journal, The American Organist.
  • rich_enough
    Of course there is the Chronicle for Higher Education website and others that list jobs at college universities, including music positions at Catholic schools:
    chronicle.com/search/jobs

You can try these sites too for jobs at parishes (along with some campus ministry positions):
    www.catholicjobs.com
    www.npm.org/Membership/hotline.html

Occasionally there are positions listed here as well - the Jesuit College Job Bank:
    office.ajcunet.edu/jobbank/homepage.htm

Peabody Conservatory in Baltimore (and other conservatories & music departments) have an online jobs bulletin:
    www.peabody.jhu.edu/jvb

Some of the local AGO chapters list positions available (e.g. greater Washington DC: www.odw.org) and some larger dioceses have job sites that list music positions (e.g. Chicago: www.odw.org).

Sam Schmitt
  • Just FYI, you will certainly need a DMA or PhD to get a university job these days. Only world-class performers manage to get jobs with an MM anymore. Exceptions do exist, so keep an eye on the listings. Good luck.
  • BruceL