Mystery of Faith
  • I have been looking for some vernacular options for the Mystery of Faith that are simple chanted tunes. I have already looked at the Chabanel options (very nice) and am thinking of beginning to use the one set to the tune of Stabat Mater... I was wondering what other folks are using out there that don't involve the MoC.
  • GavinGavin
    The option in By Flowing Waters is excellent. I also recommend David Hurd's New Plainsong Mass.
  • Those in BFW are very nice... and quite similar to the Latin Mysterium Fidei melody... it could work well toward getting the faithful ready for Latin! Thanks, Gavin. Haven't looked at the Hurd melodies yet...

I have tried my hand at putting simple Office Psalm tones to the words... could you critique? I am new to it... oops problems with pdf file.
  • I am having difficulty with my CutePDF writer... just got a new computer for Christmas... re-loaded my Meinrad font and have written a couple of things. Downloaded the free CutePDF software (that worked fine on the old computer). When I try to make a pdf file from a word doc. with meinrad font stuff... it gives me a series of bar-code type lines on the page... (see above pdf file for an example - heh). If I take the same file created on the new computer, copy to a thumb drive... use the other computer (with CutePDF software) to make the pdf file, it works just fine.

Any ideas why the new CutePDF download won't work for Meinrad chant font docs? Any ideas?
  • by chance is this vista? Some people are having Meinrad trouble on Vista. Another thing is to set your PDF to embed the fonts, and play with other settings on the program.
  • While it is not chant, the Community Mass setting by Proulx (sp) has an alternative for Christ has died (hopefully this acclamation will leave soon once the new translations are all approved). He uses "when we eat this Bread...".