Catholics behaving badly
  • Organist at Catholic church, on hearing a recording of today's Mass.

NB: I was minorly shocked when I listened to this recording. On the fourth verse "sorrowing, sighing" I accompany on the Swell, thus dropping the organ volume down considerably. You can clearly hear people chattering away during the singing. After 20 years as a church musician, I suppose I shouldn't be shocked to find out people are chattering while they should be singing, but I was, lol. anyway, this is maybe my Most Favorite Hymn to Accompany on the Organ. And I have a lot of fun with it.

Thanked by 1chonak
  • PhatFlute
    This is very sad for me to hear and dissappointing !!
    Ph
  • Well, four verses is- for better or worse- a lot to ask out of people who know that mass is finished. On the one hand, yeah it's rude and an indication of declining social skills. OTOH, people know that the main event is over. So maybe we should at least be glad they know there is a main event.

And for some folks it's not the most musically edifying hymn of all time. Our organist cringes to play it, as I do to sing it. We use it about every other year. This year we sang The first Nowell instead, with a lovely descant. It's still the Epiphany without We three kings.
  • chonakchonak
    In full, it's five verses. We sang it too, but at the entrance.
  • GavinGavin
    Who doesn't love "We Three Kings"?
    Thanked by 1Adam Wood
  • Me.
  • Kathy
    Me Three...
  • CharlesW