Mexican polyphony
  • matthewjmatthewj
    I've been looking at polyphony composed in Mexico and am very intrigued by many of these works.

I have no previous experience with these composers so I'm just trying to figure out who's who, what's what, and where to find scores. I've been looking at works by Padilla, Capillas, and Salazar. Other than these, who are the other main figureheads of Mexican polyphony?

CPDL and IMSLP both seem to be kinda light in resources for Mexican composers... does anyone have another source? Or have any legal scores they might consider giving to the above websites? For example, Padilla's Wikipedia biography says "over 700 pieces survive" - yet CPDL has only 6.
  • The late musicologist Robert Stevenson published modern editions of quite a few Mexican (and other Latin American) choral compositions, I understand. How readily available his publications are these days, I don't know (although I imagine any decent academic library in the States would possess at least some of them; and a Worldcat.org search, which I've not attempted, would be helpful in that respect).

Meanwhile I presume you're familiar with the various Hyperion CDs devoted to this repertoire?

http://www.hyperion-records.co.uk/dc.asp?dc=D_CDH55317

http://www.hyperion-records.co.uk/dc.asp?dc=D_CDA67524