Music director prefers to use her own subs when I have to miss-Thoughts?
  • I had an unusual circumstance this week and needed a sub for the Wednesday rehearsal, as I will be away that evening for a rehearsal of The Nutcracker. I'm contracted with the orchestra giving the production and missing any rehearsals with this ensemble for any reason is a sure way to get fired. So I put the word out to those I know with professional piano experience and/or church accompanying experience. The director thanked me for taking initiative but ultimately ended up choosing her own sub for that night. She's done this before and I'm a little offended. I'm a twice-degreed professional musician with many other professional and competent contacts, and her apparent lack of trust bothers me. This sort of thing is unheard of in the rest of my musical career. If I get called for a quartet gig and later find I can't do it, it's up to me to find a replacement-not the person who organized the gig, and they definitely would not complain about who I chose to replace me unless they want to start a war. Sigh. Thoughts?
  • GavinGavin
    I've had that situation when working only as an organist. Seems more than fair to me. I'd rather not do the work of finding a sub.
  • Adam WoodAdam Wood
    I'm confused why you would be upset that someone else wants to do work that you otherwise would have to do.

Finding your own replacement is an act of professional courtesy, not a point of artistic prerogative.

It isn't a question of your judgement if the director has someone else they already know and are comfortable working with that they'd prefer sub in.
    Thanked by 3Gavin Ally Heath