The Chants of Christmas by Gloria Dei
  • miacoyne
    I just purchased The Chants of Christmas by Gloria Dei schola with Dr. Richard Pugsley. As I was listening to the CD, I noticed the significant differnce in their singing style from the CD with Dr. Mary Berry. (Im not talking about the different interpretations of Solemess or Cardine) There are lots of fast notes and strong high notes. It sounds almost... agitated. Of course, I'm very new in singing chants and not much knowledge of Cardine's (I found it's very hard to follow his book) Their singing is beautiful, but the style seems to be pretty different from other groups I 've heard so far. Does anyone own this CD? What's your opinion?
  • The CD you mention, The Chants of Christmas was an early effort by the Community of Jesus (Gloria Dei Cantores). I think over the years the choir became more expert. The last four CD's, the life of Christ in Chant and the Transfiguration are much more mature and are perfect examples of the subtle way in which Dr Mary Berry applied the semiology. These last four CD's are among my favorites of all Chant recordings. The text seems to spring to life!
  • miacoyne
    I have Gregorian Semiology by Dom Cardine. I found it's very hard to follow. And it seems that it's not designed as a method book to teach. (I guess the writing follows the style of their interpreting chants. Very flourish, but not systematic.) It doesn't show you how to apply those that are described in the book. Of course I didn't finish reading it. As a chant lover and chant director I would like to learn more about it. I am already familiar with Solesmes method but I think I can enrich my schola's singing if I knew about the semiology method too. Is there any way I can learn it to teach besides from the book?
  • incantuincantu