Solo cantor/violinist (just starting) - help!
  • Hey everyone! I'm pretty new to this community but I've been following this forum for all my sacred music questions.

I've just started singing/playing at a church which does not seem to have a budget for hiring an organist, so it looks like I'm on my own (literally, the only musician for the 7am Mass) for a few weeks until I figure something out. The pastor seems to have no qualms with having the Mass sung acapella ("the 7am Mass is more subdued" were his words, they had no music before I came in). I feel slightly uncomfortable without some chordal instrument behind me, especially for hymns, but ultimately it's up to me to choose the rep. I should also mention I am a young professional violinist with extensive early music (as in Baroque/sacred) training.

I asked my organist friend if he could accompany me for Mass last week (first time I started) and he did...but he can't come in the future (it was a one-time deal). We did the ICEL chant for the ordinary, hymns w/organ acc., and I performed movements from the Telemann Solo Violin Fantasias for prelude and postlude.

My question: is it advised to sing as a solo cantor just a capella? Any suggestions for repertoire (both for solo soprano or violin) or chants?? We're using the *sigh* Breaking Bread Hymnals.

I did not really sign up to start a choir (there's enough of that at my church) and I was hoping for it to be just me and an organ/keyboard. However it seems the pastor wants me to get something started...I think it's something I can develop in the future once I have more knowledge of rep, technique, etc. I know that is not a problem, just a matter of when to begin.

Thoughts? Help is much appreciated!!!
  • chonakchonak
    Welcome!

A few ideas, offhand:

The 7.a.m. Mass congregation is used to a quiet Mass without music, and probably a fair number of them like it that way. Be gentle with them and keep the singing minimal.